28 thoughts on “this facebook thing these kids are into these days

  1. Jessa Fields says:

    Can someone explain if there is any appeal to Facebook for those over 25? All my students (I teach at a university) can’t believe I don’t have a Facebook profile; I must be such a loser. Which is true, seeing as I post on a SVH site every day, but I don’t think it has anything to do with Facebook. Am I missing out? Is there anything to miss out on?

  2. KarenElhyam says:

    Not missing a darn thing, Jessa. I’m an undergrad, and I use it to keep in contact with friends who are out of state, as well as to plan parties and “events”. So, seeing as you’re a grown up, I’m sure you’ve figured out alternate ways to do that.

    Other than those features, there really isn’t that much to recommend. You can’t really meet new friends, and while it’s nice to have such an elaborate address book, any other use is kinda creepy and skeevy.

  3. ihatewheat says:

    I use my personal account because to keep in touch with people I haven’t talked to in a while. There are people I used to work with, people I went to school that have found me because of facebook, which is cool. Otherwise, it is out of control with all the applications and extra features. I also work at a university and a. half these kids will not be able to get a decent job because of the stuff they post, b. it accounts for a 200% drop in productivity and c. most people spend so much time creating an image of themselves on facebook that is what they think they should be like instead of actually what they are like.

    Some of them cannot believe that I did not have facebook in college. And then I tell them I did not have a cell phone in college and they crap their pants.

  4. willamina says:

    Facebook is a howling wilderness of irritating applications.

    That being said, I grudgingly created an account earlier this year (I work with devilishly persuasive university students). I’m now an official Dairi Burger fan there.

  5. tammyt says:

    the only reason i use facebook, really, is for their scrabulous application, which is just like scrabble (well, i work at a radio station and need SOMETHING to do between sets!). otherwise i agree about the overload of apps. i will add the dairi burger, though!

  6. Robyn says:

    The only thing I use facebook for is to waste time and get back in touch with people I haven’t talked to in ages.

    In some cases it’s been a bad thing, in others, it’s been great to reconnect.

    But now I can use it so worship all things SVH. And when my beautiful blue and silver christmas tree is up, I’ll be sure to post some pictures for you all to see!

  7. Melody_Grey says:

    I’m one of those people who have fallen into the trap of adding application after application. (Thankfully, though, I actually USE the applications that take residence on my profile.) I quite enjoy the water fight, NES games, iLike, and bookshelf apps. Also, I use it to keep track of my friends from high school and those that have graduated already. And now I get to be a DB fangirl!

  8. Anonymous says:

    haha. i joined! that is awesome.. however, i have one teensy complaint: i so would move for ‘perfect size six figures’ in your interests section :o)

  9. Mia says:

    Woo! Despite everything, I think if you’re on facebook, you’ve got to be TOTALLY INTO facebook and all its horrific, timewasting shallowness. A bit like SVH. No half measures, guys! *adds*

  10. Kimberly says:

    Yay!

    I’m over 25 and on Facebook. I use it partly to keep in touch with people (including finding old high school friends) and partly to waste time with apps like Scrabulous. It’s also a good way to share my photos without having them visible to the entire internet.

  11. Jane says:

    Blow their minds with this fact: I’m 29 years old, married, with a house, two cars, a cat, and one of those “Grown-up jobs” and I still don’t have a cell phone.

    I’m convinced that I am going to be the last person on earth to get a cell phone and that I exist merely to prove that one can get by without one.

    But you take my iPod and Nintendo DS away from me and there will be hell to pay, mark my words

  12. Diane says:

    I’m a fan!

    I love Facebook, but that’s because it started right as I was about to go into my freshman year of college. It’s a good way to see what everyone you hated/were obsessed with/never actually talked to in high school is doing now.

    Other fans feel free to friend me, I’m the only Diane in the group and I’d love to talk SVH.

  13. Amy Slutton says:

    LOL… I didn’t have a cellphone in college either… my first cellphone was a college graduation present…

    I did however have a beeper for a little while 😀

  14. Winnie Egbert says:

    Thank you so much for bringing this up – I have been stressing over the amount of pressure I’m getting to join Facebook. I am over 25 (just), have friends in a dozen different timezones and one said recently that he’ll no longer call (FROM ACROSS TOWN)… he’ll just wait til I get a Facebook page. Nnrrgghhh!!!

    I didn’t have a cell in college. Haven’t had a land line since college. Odd. Are we on the cusp of some pre- / post- technology thing for which all persons younger than ourselves will look at us really, really funny when they’re not laughing at our ’80s school photos?

  15. Paige says:

    I’m almost 25 and have been on Facebook for the past couple of years…I agree that the “apps” are pretty annoying (except for Scrabulous!), but I use it mainly to keep in touch with friends who’ve moved away, etc. I am totally a fan of the dairiburger.

  16. Johanna says:

    I swear, I’m trying to cut down on facebook time. I don’t even like it and I’m on for several hours a day.

    All of these damn applications…

    Myspace has none of this carck.

  17. stephanie says:

    I am addicted to facebook, but mainly because I just moved 12 hours away from where all my friends and family are – its great for staying in touch with people, and to show off pictures of my brand-new little girl! I can honestly say that if it wasnt for facebook, I would be going insane right now.
    My hubby’s a pilot, and out of town for 25 days a month – being stuck at home with a new baby in a town you dont know anyone is incredibly lonely

  18. Jessa Fields says:

    Wow, thanks for all these responses to my question about Facebook. I always feel like I was born at a weird time (I just turned 29) because I’m young enough to have had internet for my entire adult life, but too “old” (or at least, too proprietary about my personal life) for stuff like Facebook.

    Stephanie, congrats on your little girl. I’ve got one too. Love how we both somehow find time for this website despite the newborns…see, people with my priorities don’t deserve to go on Facebook!

  19. Margaret says:

    Facebook is just good for keeping in touch with people, not much else, especially those damn applications! Way more of my friends are on there than anywhere else, so it does have its benefits. I just turned 24 (like just days ago), and yeah, it’s kind of a weird inbetween as technology goes. MySpace was teeny tiny when I entered college, and my school didn’t have facebook until I was a senior, so I find these things nice to have, but i’m not obsessed with them like people who are jsut a few years younger than me are. But most importantly, I’m going to join the Dairi Burger fan club on there!

  20. James says:

    well, i just joined the fan netowrk on facebook, lol.

    i’m all over this facebook thing…i’m kinda old (26) but only graduated from college 2 yrs ago…so alot of my frat brothers and friends who are now in grad school are still on there…its great for keeping in touch.

    once i leave corporate america for grad school myself i think i’ll have to call it quits, though

  21. Tom C says:

    Speaking as an “old” man (37), Facebook has no appeal to me whatsoever. I have a zillion ways of keeping in touch with friends, I don’t “party” anymore, and I get tired of … er … well, the smugness of youth (I had someone actually tell me, back when Facebook was still a walled garden and MySpace was hip, that I didn’t “get” the internet because I didn’t have a MySpace page… I’m a programmer, fergawdssake…)

    So, as a grown up (and I honestly don’t put anyone under 30 in that category, barring a few especially mature 20-somethings), I see absolutely no appeal in social networking at all. It seems like it’s mostly a place to “hook up,” brag about your hook-ups, play rather lame online games, and in all other ways delay growing up.

    Sorry… got better things to do.

Leave a comment